Getting the hang of things

Hey, everyone! Its been awhile since I’ve even touched this blog; the days and weeks have just gotten away from me…the kids and I have had to get used to our new school, our new schedule, and our new environment, all sans Hubby, and it has been quite the adjustment.

I am happy to say we are in a groove!  It only took us 3 full weeks to get there.  And wouldn’t you know it, the Hubby comes back next week to mess it all up again. 🙂

go-figure2-300x241

So what exactly have we been up to these past 3 weeks? Well, everything.  First, its been quite the adjustment as far as our schedule goes.  In Maryland, the BUS picked the kids up at 8:35.  8:35!  I had 2 hours to get them fed, lunches packed, and out the door, AND it was only a couple steps to the bus stop.  I didn’t know how good I had it.

Here, school starts at 8:15 and I’m the bus.  Since, I’m the bus, I like to leave here by 7:45.  The school is only a couple miles away, but with traffic and all that madness, I like to get to the school with plenty of time to spare.  So, leaving at 7:45 every morning means having everyone fed, dressed, AND lunches packed by then.  Most mornings, my kids are still sleeping at 7AM…so you can imagine the craziness going on in the mornings at our house.  More times than I’d like to admit, breakfast is eaten in the van.

School lets out at 2:45, and I’m the bus for pick up too…after school, we’ve got soccer practice M-Th from 4-5 (MW) and 4:30-5:30 (TTh).  I feel like I live in my van during the week.  We’re home by 6 most nights, bathed, fed, and reading by 7, then its lights out by 7:30-7:45.  Then we get to do it all over again the next day!

GroundhogDay

While our new schedule has taken some getting used to, we’ve also had to get acclimated to just LIVING here.  If anyone has ever told you that the east coast was different from the west coast, they weren’t lying.  I feel like I’ve had to get used to an entirely different culture.  The laid-back, que sera sera attitude here could easily be called lackadaisical by an uptight east coaster like myself.  Maybe its the overdose in sunshine, but people just seem to have an easy going way about things over this way.

Too-Much-Sun-Dog-Article-Pic

So, we somewhat settled into a schedule and came to terms with the fact that living out here is a different world from the east; next step was to mingle with the natives and actually make connections with people here.

The kids have been in school for 3 weeks and today at pickup I noticed the waves from other kids and calls of their names while we walked through campus.  It warmed my heart to see that friendships were being made.

Me, on the other hand, its been not as easy.  You recall my post about getting back in the dating game, right?

Well, it took a lot of convincing myself about getting out there…I would have been perfectly happy to hole up in my house, and not talk to anyone because going out and meeting people just requires too much effort.

After one week of bailing on the running group I told you all about…I finally made it to a run.  And at the risk of sounding like a cheese ball, I am so completely happy I did.

IMG_7503

I’ve been running with them for a couple weeks and meeting the women in this group has not only allowed me to forge new friendships, but opened up more opportunities to get to know new people.  Because of this group, I have decided to cross off a bucket-list item:

SoCal Ragnar

That’s right…this girl right here will run the SoCal Ragnar Relay with 11 other women from the running group on April 4-5. Pray I don’t die.

Another opportunity that’s popped up due to the running group:

IMG_7527

I’ve found a local bootcamp run by 2 great trainers that’s being held at a Crossfit box near me.

You remember my gym troubles, correct?  I quit the gym here because I couldn’t stand it and started working out at home in my garage.

IMG_7475

I have a pretty sweet set up, especially with the addition of my new spin bike, kettlebells, and slam balls, but I missed the camaraderie of working out in a group.  The opportunity to work out with the Bootcamp Girls (as I call them) fell into my lap and I couldn’t be happier.

See what happens when you get over yourself and step out of your comfort zone?  ;)Amazing things can happen. 🙂

Step-Out-of-Your-Comfort-Zone-Inspirational-Quotes13

2 thoughts on “Getting the hang of things

Leave a Reply

