Its official, I’ve been living under a rock

I know ya’ll missed me yesterday. 🙂  I went from 2 posts in 1 day to no posts at all! With school starting next week (hallelujah!) and the Hubby abandoning me in a new city with no friends or family in a couple days, I’ve had a to-do list *this long* and trying to get it all done with my boys who have had too much togetherness in the past month, has taken much of my day. (run-on sentence for the win!)  But this morning, I skipped my workout and got stuff done early so here I am, brightening your day with a new blog post.  Woohoo. 🙂

It’s officially been 3 full weeks since we moved here and let me tell you, I have been living under a freaking rock.  As you know, I grew up in Virginia Beach, VA; moved there when I was 7 and left when I was 29.  While VB isn’t a small town, its very easy to stay in your area of the city; go to YOUR grocery store, YOUR gas station, YOUR bank…stay in YOUR bubble.  When I finally did leave my bubble, the Navy sent us to Milton, FL.

fr4731

 

Milton is east of Pensacola, FL and is pretty much Alabama. (Rolllll Tiiiide).

XTBYIApDrxfvhuS-556x313-noPad

 

The picture above is good ol’ downtown Milton.  Yes, I lived there.  For 3 years.  Milton didn’t have a Target or Starbucks when we first moved there and the commissary was the size of a convenience store.  The Shrimp Basket was the fancy restaurant in town, and the Big Lots was actually where I got a lot of my shopping done.

So, no Trader Joe’s…no Whole Foods…no mall…no movie theater…nothing.

In 2010, the Navy moved us to Lexington Park, MD.

fr3313

 

When people say “Southern MD,” most think Waldorf.  Nope, we were 30 miles south of Waldorf…as south as you can get in Southern MD.

ar12470133924887

 

The only picture Google had of “the Park” was an arial view.  Well, that and a picture of the local BJ’s Wholesale.

1147384561.BJsCaliforniaMD_full

 

So for another 3 years, I did without some of life’s simple pleasures: a mall, a working movie theater (MD friends know that the Lex Park movie theater doesn’t count), a Starbucks with a drive-thru, a Trader Joe’s, etc.

So, let’s do the math, people…that’s 6 whole years (really, 6 and a 1/2) living in the boonies.

Fast forward to the end of 2013, when the Navy decides to have some giggles and move us to San Diego, CA, home to 1.3 million people, the 2nd largest city in California.

map_of_san-diego

 

?????????????????? east-village-condos

 

Let me back up and say, at both of our previous duty stations, the commute to the base was 3-5 miles.  We exited our neighborhood, turned on the main road in the town we were in, drove several miles, and we were at the gate.

Now the Navy expects us to get on the FREEWAY (the 805? the 5? the 666??) and drive over a BRIDGE where people are going 99 MPH to get to the base.  Oh and not just that, but there are like 7 different bases out here (don’t quote me on that figure).  I know, I lived in Hampton Roads and drove to the base there, but sorry, Hampton Roads, your little I-64 ain’t got nothing on the 666 (805? 5? who knows).

And not just that…because I’ve been living under a rock for the past 6.5 years, I’m all wide-eyed like a country girl from the sticks when it comes to things that aren’t so new to some people.

Like food trucks.

IMG_7168 IMG_7169 IMG_7170

 

I’ve been fascinated with shows like Eat Street on the Food Network and was excited to actually experience it myself.  The closest thing to a food truck I’ve ever gotten was Dominic’s outside in Home Depot in Virginia Beach.  Ya’ll know what I’m talking about.

Another new experience for me?

costco-warehouse-club-chain

 

Freaking Costco.

I’ve been a member of Sams Club and BJs, but never Costco.

Costco and I will be BFFs, I can tell already.  I spent an hour and a 1/2 in there today (with the kids, which is a feat in itself) and I’d say my first visit was a success.

IMG_7175

 

I’ll need to go back when the kids are back in school so I can go aisle by aisle. 🙂

Another thing that has be all “ooh ahh” is the gym on one of the bases out here…

IMG_7152

 

An outdoor “box” that is free for active duty and their dependents!  I may have to learn to drive on the 666 just so I can use the equipment!

Do you consider yourself a country or city person?

Have a good rest of your day!

2 thoughts on “Its official, I’ve been living under a rock

Leave a Reply

